What is the color fastness standard?

Color fastness refers to the resistance of a material or fabric to change in color or fading when it is exposed to various environmental factors such as light, water, heat, and chemicals. It is an important property to consider in the textile and garment industry as it affects the durability and appearance of the products. To assess the color fastness of a material, various standardized tests are conducted. In this response, we will provide an overview of some commonly used color fastness standards.

One of the widely recognized color fastness standards is the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standard. ISO develops and publishes international standards that are widely accepted and adopted across different industries. ISO has established several standards specifically focusing on color fastness testing. Some important ISO standards related to color fastness include:

Color fastness testing method-2.jpg

1. ISO 105: This series of standards consists of various parts that cover different aspects of color fastness testing. Each part focuses on a specific factor affecting color fastness, such as light, water, washing, and perspiration. For example:

   - ISO 105-B series: Determines color fastness to light.

   - ISO 105-C series: Determines color fastness to washing.

   - ISO 105-E series: Determines color fastness to water.

2. ISO 105-F: This standard evaluates the color fastness of textiles to dry cleaning procedures.

3. ISO 105-J: This standard measures the color fastness of textiles to simulated rainwater.

4. ISO 105-P: This standard determines the color fastness of textiles to artificial saliva.

The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) is another major organization that develops standards for color fastness testing. Some notable AATCC standards related to color fastness include:

1. AATCC TM16: This standard evaluates colorfastness to light exposure, both outdoor and artificial.

2. AATCC TM61: Determines the resistance to crocking or color transfer during dry and wet rubbing.

3. AATCC TM107: Measures the resistance to color change of textiles when exposed to various light sources.

4. AATCC TM164: Evaluates the resistance to laundering of dyed textile materials.

In addition to ISO and AATCC standards, national and industry-specific standards are also followed in different countries. For example, the British Standards Institution (BSI) has published numerous standards related to color fastness, including BS 1006 (color fastness to rubbing), BS  EN 20105 (color fastness to light), and BS EN 20107 (color fastness to water).

It is important to note that color fastness standards provide guidelines and procedures for conducting tests to measure color fastness. The results are usually graded based on a scale (often from 1 to 5 or 1 to 8), where higher numbers indicate better color fastness. However, the specific grading criteria may vary depending on the standard being used.

Color fastness testing is crucial in the textile industry to ensure that products maintain their desired appearance throughout their lifecycle. By following standardized testing procedures, manufacturers can assess and improve the color fastness properties of their materials, ensuring customer satisfaction and compliance with industry regulations.